Happy Blog-iversary!

Dear Blog and Readers,

Happy One Year Anniversary!!!! A year ago on 16 October (Happy Birthday Andrés!) I wrote my very first entry in Stamp My Passport, Please. It has been quite a year, ladies and gentlemen, and it isn’t over yet, so thanks for sticking with me. I have greatly enjoyed writing and sharing my thoughts here on this humble little page, and I must extend my thanks to all of you for giving my writing some meaning and purpose outside of my own personal enrichment. I also want to thank the managers of LiveJournal for producing such an easy and attractive journal service for my use. I don’t know if they read these public blogs ever, but they probably don’t get enough kudos.

At this point in time we are 3/4 of the way through my year abroad. I have less than three months left until I find myself back in NJ re-exploring the avenues of my pre-exchange life. The pathways on which I used to frolic will probably seem simultaneously comforting and strange, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. On the flip side: I have three exciting months left to explore and make the most of Australia, and I intend to use them to the best of my ability.

I have been doing a lot of thinking and from where I sit, I think I am going to try to maintain my blog after I arrive at home. Perhaps my frequency will drop to a monthly update–something a little more passive/realistic–but the fact is the although I will return home, I will still be away. I have written before about making a home in another place and making family out of the people I meet there–these new places and people are the ones I must now leave behind and it is they who might want to keep having the option of knowing what the heck I get up to and when I might be returning to them. So although I might fail miserably at maintaining this blog, the pride I feel at having actually kept this up somewhat successfully for an entire year gives me the confidence to pledge to at least try.

The internet gives everyone the possibility of being a published author…and there are many people who publish things on the internet who might do better to keep their thoughts to themselves. I sincerely hope this is not the case with my blog, of course. But the point is that random people post things on the internet and random people read them. Occasionally someone’s work gets a lot of exposure byword of mouth and spreads for no reason at all other than that it affects people in a way that makes them want to share. Of course the main reason for this blog was to keep my friends and family informed of my whereabouts and activities without having to send a million emails all the time that all say basically the same thing, but I like to think that there might be a couple of random people with whom I have not actively shared this link that ran across my blog and liked what they read and maybe kept reading. There is always the possibility of that in this very public electronic space. I acknowledge these potential people now and thank them also if they have taken the time to read my words.

Now, family, friends, I want to make a request of you: please let me know if I am missing anything. There is a comments section of this blog (over which, I might add, I have complete control so I can delete anything I don’t want there). Please use it. If you want to hear more about some things or less about others, if you have questions and don’t want to send me an email, let me know on the blog. I just write what I feel and what I do from day to day, but even this late in the game, I want to know what you want to know. All you have to do is click "leave a comment" at the end of any entry that you read and write something in the boxes provided.

I will sign off now. I feel really good about this year in general. So much has happened and so much is about to happen. So stay tuned, and as always, thanks for reading.

Love,
Ruth

Leave a Reply

