Lunchtime

I have fifteen minutes left of my lunch hour, and I figured I better come up with some excuse to use the computer lab–one of the few benefits provided by my job. I don’t get much else. I get an ID card that allows me access to the libraries and computer labs. I do get print quota, which is awesome and I am allowed to have a debit account attached to my card which sounds like a scam, but is actually really convenient because although they are getting more money from me, I won’t have to go to the damn PNC teller every time I need to take out money. Of course, the DCC could just start taking credit cards like the BCC does…but we won’t go there.

Anyway, so the point is, I’m GOING to take advantage of my computer lab privilege, and I’m GOING to use that print quota…I may or may not take out books from the library. We’ll see.

It’s finally Friday, which is awesome. It’s also October, which freaks me out. Wasn’t it summer a minute ago? Wasn’t I in Australia yesterday? I guess the fact that I am able to post in my blog now means that I’ve finally got myself situated and comfortable back in the US. I wonder how long that will last? I was talking to Andrés one time before I left last year. The conversation went something like this: 
Andrés: Wow, I can’t believe you’re going to be gone for a whole year.
Me: Yeah, but no worries! I’ll be back!
Andrés: Psssh! Yeah, not for long!

I guess he has a point. I don’t like staying put for very long. But I will eventually. Daniel says that I have a great deal of patients staying at home, working around here and saving up until I have enough to strike out on my own responsibly. He says that most people he knows would have just cut their losses and run for the hills rather than stay at home with Mom and Dad. I won’t pretend that staying home is a dream come true. Every once in a while I realize that the time has come for me to be independent and move out, but I simultaneously realize that I need to wait for the opportune moment…like when the bank calls and says that I have to start paying fees on my student checking account because I am no longer a student…oops!

Until then, I’m staying put. I’m definitely looking into other options for the future. The time for movement is certainly near. But not yet. Right now it’s organizing time. When Oren and I were hanging in my room the other day, I cleaned off a whole shelf of papers and envelopes and stuff. It was liberating and the recycle bin by Mom’s desk was full! Hooray! Slowly but surely I would like to purge my life of junk.

The other thing I am currently doing is studying for the GREs. Yes, Graduate School is on the horizon. I am looking into several program for International Education. I’d like to make Study Abroad my life…as if it isn’t already. I’m looking at programs at NYU, George Washington, Lesley in Cambridge and SIT in Vermont. They’re good programs and I’m excited to learn more about them. I have to get moving though. Deadlines approach with inhuman speed.

Anyway, that’s my lunch break! Time to get back to work!

Halloween is coming. Last year I was "Partly Cloudy with a Chance of Showers". I dressed up in a blue shirt covered in cotton ball clouds and carried around two little water pistols that now reside at Morgan’s house (or in Morgan’s local landfill, more likely). It was a concept costume. No ideas for this year yet!

Thanks for reading the rambling.

Leave a Reply

