Anniversaries

At this magical hour of midnight I celebrate two anniversaries. January 11th is the second anniversary of arriving in Valencia, Spain and today,  January 12th is the first anniversary of my reentry into the United States. I have officially been home for a year…well…technically not for a few more hours. I was probably between Brisbane and Singapore at this point last year, but still. We can’t be exact all the time, can we?

I will acknowledge that some very special people have birthdays on these two days. You know who you are. 🙂

I also wanted to post an article that I found in the Chronicle of Higher Education today. Read it. It sums up all of my feelings about education, majors and the like. I think this article hit home particularly hard today because yesterday, I told someone who I had majored in anthropology and am now working in college recruitment, and these people looked at me like that was totally unrelated and out of left field. I acknowledge that these were probably particularly dense and narrow people, but still. I know for a fact that they are not alone in their complete ignorance…and it’s going to mean trouble for education if the notions of one discipline’s relation to other disciplines are so compartmentalized and limited.

Just read it before I stay up way past my bed time expounding upon my over-sensitive, late-night sentiments.

Stop Asking Me About My Major!!!

As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

