New Blog Host

Hello everyone!

Welcome to my new and improved blog. I moved my blog to WordPress.com because Livejournal started popping up advertisements that you had to watch before you could get to my blog. I didn’t sign up for that, so I’m out of there. I haven’t decided whether I should dismantle it or not…I’m kind of attached to the old thing. But I’ll be continuing my posts here instead. If you’re reading this, you probably got an email directing you to this location, so all of the previous paragraph was probably redundant and completely unnecessary. Too late to erase it now.

So, the month of February was interesting. I last wrote in mid-January about how I have been home for a year. It’s weird. And what makes all of this even more weird is the fact that a whole bunch of my friends are slowly posting old pictures from last year on Facebook. It’s a throwback. Also, a friend of mine is currently studying abroad at UQ. I keep looking at her Facebook pictures and getting really homesick in a big way…reasons to avoid Facebook.

In any case, I’ve been keeping busy enough. I quit my Hebrew classes because they were doing me more harm than good. I promised myself that I’d keep working through the book and doing Rosetta Stone. I ditched the book immediately but I was doing pretty well with Rosetta Stone…that is until I got sick and lost my voice. It’s time to get back in the saddle on that though. I like Rosetta Stone, but it’s really not going to get me fluent in Hebrew. However I have seen some improvement. When Oren’s family is talking, I have begun understanding words here and there. Sometimes I understand enough key words to figure out what is going on…but I don’t understand Hebrew yet. The only way I’ll get there is if I go live in Israel for a while and who knows when that will happen.

The biggest thing that happened to me this month was that I got into graduate school! About 5 days after the application was complete, I checked my online status and found out I was “accepted prior to deposit.” That means that I’ve been accepted to the program, but I haven’t shelled out the deposit to hold my place in the program yet. I’m going to do it and be a grad student of SIT Graduate Institute’s Low Residency Master’s program in International Education. “Low Residency” means it is mostly a distance program with a certain amount of time spent on campus. This means I can keep my job at Douglass and keep earning money so that I can pay the bills. It’s pretty cool! The program is designed so that I can use my job to get my degree. I’ll come away with 3 years of work experience, an MA, and potentially very little debt. We all know that I am a fan of debt-free education.

So that was exciting. Otherwise it has just been work and choir since the semester restarted in January. Oren got into grad school yesterday, so that was very exciting. There is much to celebrate. However it’s been a particularly snowy month, so every second we have to shovel the driveway, figure out what to do with the cars at Oren’s house or evaluate whether or not to brave the roads. Work was canceled today, giving me an unexpected, three-day weekend. It’s very cool! But I’m slightly disappointed because no work today means a LOT of work on Monday to catch up. Ah well. No choice but to enjoy it.

Oh, one more note about this blog change–I’m keeping my photo blog on Livejournal. I like it better there and I still don’t want to imbed photos in my entries. So, you can go to the photo tab to look at the photos from 2008. I haven’t put any new photos up, but the ones that are there are pretty cool…if I do say so myself.

Keep on keepin’ on, and as always, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

