An Update and Hurricane Sandy

It’s been a while since my last real update, and tonight, at the eleventh hour, I don’t know if I’ll totally do it justice. However the recent events on the east coast merit a mention, if only to let my international friends and family (those who still tune in…) that I and my family are safe and very, very lucky.

Hurricane Sandy

My family and I are safe and very, very lucky.

Here is part of what happened at my parents’ house:

Image

That is a truly gargantuan pine tree (one of four, similar trees) that fell during the hurricane. Somehow, none of them hit the house. I repeat, *lucky*.

This is what happened at my aunt and uncle’s house:

Image

In case it is unclear, that is a giant tree that fell across their deck and came to rest on their house. As far as I know, there was no serious damage, but last I heard they still did not have power. My cousins in Hoboken did not sustain water damage to their house but were still without power earlier today. Hoboken itself may or may not be under water. I have not heard the latest report.

My parents got power back yesterday after almost getting in the car to spend a night at my apartment.

As you can probably tell from tuning into my photo-a-day project (ahem), I was in California during the hurricane itself. Oren weathered the storm in our apartment which lost power only overnight on Monday. As we are on the fourth floor of an apartment located on a hill, we did not sustain water damage and thank goodness we were spared from trees and other random projectiles crashing into our windows.

Again. Lucky.

The scenes from New Jersey and New York on the news are pretty bleak. The Jersey Shore is hurting and I just read that there are now going to be restrictions set on who can get gas on which days. Oren and I have not tried to brave the lines that stretch from the open gas stations down very long stretches of road. This is new for us, though I know that in many countries, long lines to get gas is the norm. Luckily, we live in a walkable town: grocery store, office supplies, TJ Maxx, HomeGoods, and endless pizza all without getting into a car. Oren is carpooling to work next week to make the most of the 1/2 tank of gas he has.

The trains from my town to New York City are not yet running, so I am unsure when I will be heading back into work. Working from home until further notice. My understanding is that the power is slowly coming back on in the lower half of Manhattan. The rest of my organization has been unbelievably supportive throughout this ordeal. Thanks to you all.

Life Happenings of May – October

My life has been pretty well-chronicled in photos. Good thing too because I don’t know if I’d have been able to keep up with monthly updates even if I weren’t taking a photo each day. There were some exciting highlights that I will sum up better in a December post, probably, maybe. But I’ll touch on some here since I’m actually writing.

I ran three 5k races between May and October. They have all be chronicles, but they were: the Memorial Day race in May, The Color Run in August, and the Awesome 80s Run this past week in San Diego. All were triumphant experiences and although The Color Run was untimed, I’m pretty sure I improved each time.

There was a LOT of travelling during this time period. Because I like lists, here is the run-down:

June:

  • Chicago, IL | conference for work; saw many friends, and made some new ones visiting my brother and sister in law
  • Oren left to spend six weeks in California! (who said it had to be my travel?)

July:

  • Johannesburg, South Africa | work meeting
  • Portland, OR | professional development, one fantastic weekend with friends and a road trip, and a work meeting

August:

  • San Diego, CA | my cousin’s wedding! (it was awesome)
  • Alsace, France | my brother’s wedding! (it was awesome; oh the cheese!)

September:

  • Rochester, NY | Rosh Hashana (Jewish New Year) at Grandma’s house
  • Baltimore, MD | a music-filled weekend with friends

October:

  • New York, NY | ComicCon! (okay not technically travel, but I had to throw it in!)
  • Bethany Beach, DE | a wonderful girl’s weekend with mom and an old friend of hers. I’m scared to find out what happened to this place in the storm. 😦
  • San Diego, CA | work conference and a great vacation with my cousin

My travels aren’t quite over for the year, but I’ll have to have something to write about for the December update. Perhaps I’ll elaborate on all this once we hit the end of the year.

The only other thing of note is that wedding season has officially begun for me. The beginning is obvious above, but we still have one left this year and several lined up for next year…and even one for the year after. Our wedding is yet to be scheduled.

That’ll be all for now. I’m finishing my 365 Project soon and I’m undecided as to what I should do next. I could just do it again or I could try something new. Leave ideas/suggestions in comments!

As always, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

