Week 5: Auld Lang Syne

Monday, January 28 – Sunday, February 3

The days this week were fairly ordinary except for a few, very gratifying events that didn’t take place until the week’s end. The rest of the days were spent going to work and knitting my sweater, which is almost done! I’ll go by event, rather than date this time.

PATH Back to Normal

On Wednesday, January 30th, the PATH line from Hoboken to the World Trade Center finally opened again. It  took almost exactly three months from Hurricane Sandy to get the line working close to normally. The PATH is still running on restricted service, but the repair means I can resume my regular, and cheaper, commute into New York City. I’ll miss the ferry, but I can always splurge if I want to, and I like the return to routine.

NEMC Cocktail Hour

This was very exciting. The director of my old summer camp–New England Music Camp–held a happy hour so that all camp alumni in the New York area could come together and catch up. Even though we are all in very close proximity, and have been for a while, it was the first time I’d seen many of my camp friends for ten years (got the title of the blog post now?). It was so wonderful to catch up with them and to realize that there are plenty more friends in New York City to spend time with.

New York is funny like that. Sometimes I’ll randomly run into people I know, which is incredible in a city of a zillion people, but more often, the seething throngs of people feel isolating to this bridge-and-tunnel girl. My wonderful friend Courtney once wrote a fantastic piece for our university’s newspaper of the importance of community in a person’s life. In New York, and my commuter town in New Jersey, I find it is hard to create a cohesive community for myself. I’m often so ready to get home after working in the hustle and bustle that I forget, or ignore, the fact that there are wonderful people in this city that I already know and can hang out with any time. My camp friends and I parted ways that night determined to keep in touch and hang out much  more often.

Hat tip to Kim Wiggin for the photo.

Hat tip to Kim Wiggin for the photo.

Official Start to Wedding Planning

I still haven’t decided just how much wedding planning I’ll document on the blog. There are plenty of wedding blogs that document the wedding process much better, and probably more eloquently than I…and since I’m going to be that the majority of my readership here will likely intersect with a majority of my wedding guests…I do want SOME things to remain a surprise.

However, I will say that Oren and I had a really great, and productive sit-down with our parents on Sunday, which officially kicks off our wedding planning process. We’ve taken our time with wedding planning for a million reasons, and we’re really glad we did, but starting to piece together the details is also really exciting and I can’t wait to be married to such an awesome person.

Beyoncé Concert

Also on Sunday, I saw the best Beyoncé concert ever! She is so fierce that she had a half a football game as her opening act! Okay, I know these jokes are super unoriginal, but in all seriousness, I was super happy to watch the Super Bowl this year. Oren and I popped over to Aunt Betsy’s for some tasty food and to cheer on the game. The power out in the middle was entertaining and confusing, and ultimately I was happy to see the Ravens come out on top, since it brought great joy to my good friends in Baltimore.

So that was my week. Nothing really photo-worthy, but plenty of wonderful moments of seeing people and being present.

2 responses to “Week 5: Auld Lang Syne

  1. Love your week! Please make sure you tell us the date of your wedding as soon as possible so that we (read Brian and Randy) can start working on your card holder and we (read I) can work on your sampler.
    Love you!

    • Wow! I’m even more excited now! (Sampler?) Don’t worry, once we have a date we’ll tell everyone with plenty of time. We’ll have international guests coming and they’ll need to make travel plans as well.

Leave a Reply

