IST663 Module 2: An Introduction to Lee Shulman

Once again I find myself at my computer blogging for class. This semester I am taking a class called “Motivating 21st Century Learners,” which is very interesting so far. Our task for the first half of this semester is to research an educational theorist and showcase our learning here. I will be featuring Lee Shulman, whose work centers around teacher education.

When I picked Shulman for the focus of these blog entries, I’ll admit that I just picked the last name that was available on the list. However, it turns out that I am actually very interested that Shulman has pursued throughout his long career. According to the timeline on a website devoted to his work, Shulman has worked and researched at such institutions as the University of Michigan and Stanford. He is also the President Emeritus of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

Shulman’s work has always focused on teacher education. According to this source*,

Lee Shulman has spent his professional life advocating for the importance of teaching at all levels, from kindergarten through graduate school. He is best known for his work on the knowledge base of teaching, including the construct of pedagogical content knowledge, for his efforts to promote the scholarship of teaching in higher education, and for his studies of professional education.

During the course of these blog entires, I hope to explore Shulman’s work in a more in-depth way, while at the same time reflecting on my own believes and goals about teacher education and training. This is a subject about which I already feel strongly. I hope that my future teaching career will be full of opportunities to continue to be a learner myself and collaborate with others to gain as much as I can from the social capital of my colleagues.

*Just a little disclaimer about the website source above: www.leeshulman.net seems to be Lee Shulman’s webpage, but according to a quick check into its authority, I found that the domain is no longer owned by anyone and, therefore, no longer maintained. I have not yet been able to find a more authoritative website maintained by Lee Shulman himself. Incidentally, the website https://easywhois.com, is a good way to check who owns any domain name on the web. 

References

  1. A little history about Dr. Lee Shulman. (2008). Retrieved January 31, 2014, from http://www.leeshulman.net/biography.html
  2. Domains: Professional Education. (2008). The World of Dr. Lee Shulman. Retrieved January 31, 2014, from http://www.leeshulman.net/domains-professional-education.html
  3. Lee S. Shulman to retire from carnegie presidency. (2007, April). Retrieved January 31, 2014, from http://www.carnegiefoundation.org/press-releases/lee-s-shulman-retire-carnegie-presidency
Front Image via Flickr user http://www.audio-luci-store.it’s. Used with permission under Creative Commons License.
One response to “IST663 Module 2: An Introduction to Lee Shulman

  1. First, thank you for the resource you included about checking to see who owns the domain of a website! I can see that being really helpful in the future and have already bookmarked it!

    Second, I’m looking forward to your next few posts about Shulman. I’ve heard of his work during my undergraduate studies, but hadn’t paid much attention at the time. As someone who really wants to embrace the “teacher” side of the “teacher-librarian” name, I am beyond excited to learn with you about Shulman’s work!

Leave a Reply

