IST611 Week 9: Podcasting and QR Codes in Education

Podcasting

Here is my second EVER podcast! Some of you may remember my first ever podcast was also for one of my Syracuse classes. I don’t really remember what I put into that first podcast, but feel free to go and find out. I might go later. For this, newest installment I used much the same process as the first one. I opted to use GarageBand for recording and editing, because it was already on my computer. Though I do think I would like to experiment with Audacity when time isn’t quite so short. I like having skills with different software. GarageBand had updated since I used it last fall, so there was a little bit of a learning curve. I find its interface fairly user friendly, though I would definitely need to spend more time with it before calling myself proficient. Once I finished recording and snipping out the parts where I messed up, I exported my sound file and uploaded it to SoundCloud, which is what I used last time as well. Without further ado, here is my podcast!

I hope the monkey picture shows up. It’s a hardcore monkey that my brother got out of one of those toy vending machines at a diner one day. I have a whole series of photos of this monkey that he took while we were waiting for our food. It has nothing to do with my podcast; I just thought it would add a little color. Update: you can see the monkey I’m talking about if you go to the “Info” tab on the right of the embedded SoundCloud file!

I think podcasts are pretty cool, but I don’t really like making them — at least not alone. The podcasts I enjoy listening to the most are interview podcasts, or just conversational style podcasts with more than one person chatting as friends. This is probably due in part to the fact that this is the format of my favorite podcast ever, The Nerdist Podcast.

Podcasting is a great multimedia option for the library since it takes very few resources to produce a podcast. I think it probably took me about as long to write this blog post about both podcasting and QR codes as it did to record, edit and publish the entire podcast. Not bad at all. I see its potential mostly as a news outlet, but there is plenty of room for special-interest podcasts as well. This is something that a middle school or high school student library advisory board (haha, spells SLAB) could even take on themselves without too much supervision.

Of course, as Professor Arnone mentioned in our module this week, podcasting is not that accommodating for those with hearing impairments, but accommodations could be made in the form of transcriptions. I also like that SoundCloud visualizes the sound waves of each file that it plays. Everyone’s vocal modulations are unique, so this could be an interesting way for someone with a hearing impairment to still experience a portion of the spoken podcast. If the transcription came along with time markers, a student with a hearing impairment might even be able to follow along with the sound visualization.

QR Codes

I have found, since learning of QR codes in another (read: every other) library class, that they are a little eye-rolly. Some people hate QR codes with a fiery passion of a thousand suns, and some people want to put QR codes on everything. I fall somewhere in between. There is certainly a time and place for a QR code. For example, I found that it isn’t that effective to create a QR code to a custom Google map, because currently custom Google maps don’t work that well on mobile devices, which are the most common things that people will be using to snap QR codes. However, I think it would be cool to tuck QR codes in little nooks and crannies of a school library that lead to things like book suggestions or little happy messages.

For example:

QR Quote

QR Codes are good for scavenger hunts as well where they could link to clues. They’re also good for linking to sources for hanging artwork, such as the artist’s website. I once was at a quilt show and someone had quilted a QR Code and it linked to the title of the work. Here is a picture of it, and it even still scans!

QR Quilt

One response to “IST611 Week 9: Podcasting and QR Codes in Education

  1. Does SoundCloud allow you to link to a transcript? I couldn’t find that option with PodoMatic (it might exist – I didn’t look that hard).

    I really enjoyed your podcast but I agree with you that the best podcasts are usually conversational. I could see kids really getting into podcasts where they discuss their favorite video games or movies or books.

    I fall more towards the “passion of a burning suns” side of that spectrum, but that QR code quilt is awesome. It reminds me of the mural downtown made of QR codes that link to various community organizations.

    P.S. Congrats on your race! I just ran the 15K Apple Run in LaFayette with my mom, which was a blast.

Leave a Reply

